top of page

The Promise of Lightning








Blurb:

Finding your soulmate should be easy. At least, when the Goddess Aphrodite is involved — but Vanessa Reyes’ life seems more Greek Tragedy than Happily Ever After.

When a supposed clerical error turns the moment Vanessa has spent all her life waiting for into a nightmare instead of a dream-come-true, she finds herself in an unprecedented situation.


With two soulmates instead of one; Alexander, Vanessa, and Theo are forced to question everything they ever wanted and where they truly belong. After all, can you really be whole with only half of your soul?


Review:

I really enjoyed the book. Though Romance fiction is not my genre, the story-telling power of Jenna Weatherwax is so good, that I found myself waking late at night to finish the book. The story started with some world-building, which was easy to understand. I have read some great books which had the basic flaw of always overcomplicating or over-stretching the world-building part, which makes me either DnF the book or makes it harder to go ahead with the book. But Jenna did an amazing job at creating a world, which was easier to grasp and understand.

The story starts with a bang where the mystery is build-up in the first few pages. I like a good bang-on start and I was definitely not disappointed. The story revolves around 3 main characters: Vanessa, and her 2 soulmates, Alexander and Theo. I enjoyed the conflicting personalities of Alexander and Theo and yet how they complimented Vanessa.

The book got a bit cheesy at times for me (but hey.! I am not a romance reader), but nevertheless, I enjoyed the mysterious and adventurous parts.

The plotline is really solid and I had fun going over Vanessa's past and her present. The involvement of Gods in this whole situation was really intriguing.

Overall, I enjoyed this book and can absolutely recommend this if you like fantasy + mystical + romance.



Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page