top of page

The House of Sorrowing Stars








How do you heal a broken house?

First you unlock its secrets.


Thank you DelRey for sending me the gifted arc of the book.


Blurb:

Alone on an island, surrounded by flowers that shine as dusk begins to fall, sits an old, faded house. Rooms cannot be rented here and visits are only for those haunted by the memory of loss.


When Liddy receives an invitation, she thinks there must be some mistake - she's never experienced loss. But with her curiosity stirred, and no other way to escape a life in which she feels trapped, she decides to accept.


Once there, she meets Vivienne, a beautiful, austere woman whose glare leaves Liddy unsettled; Ben, the reserved gardener; and Raphael, the enigmatic Keymaker. If Liddy is to discover her true purpose in the house, she must find the root of their sorrow - but the house won't give up its secrets so easily . . .


Review:

A ghostly beautiful story about Love, pain, and loss.

I absolutely LOVED this book.! I'll be honest, when I first read the blurb, I wasn't expecting what the story turned out to be, but I am glad it did. The book made me happy, it made me cry, made me hopeful for a lot of characters, and pained my heart for a few.

Beth has elegantly captured so many emotions, yet still kept the mysterious magical elements intact. There's pain, loss, sorrow, hope, love. But there are also mysterious secrets, a living & breathing magical house, a ghost, and so much more. You might anticipate the story to be limited to just one of the elements, but Beth has captured all of them in such a perfect manner. I read the book so quickly (within 2 sittings) because I just wanted to know what happens next.

There were so many characters, but they all seemed to play equal parts in the story, which I really loved. At times, the MC overpowers the whole story and it becomes difficult to understand the perspective and life of other characters. But just like Liddy's marchpane, the characters' involvement in the storyline was a perfect mix.

I really enjoyed the in-between short stories of people that Liddy read in the books.

Overall, I loved the perfect blend of all the components that bind the storyline. It was a heart-warming read.


Note: Checkout some amazing reviewers for their review.



Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page