top of page

Line



'Line' is a Dystopian Fiction book by Niall Bourke. The book starts with 'Willard' and his mother, living in a line. This Line has existed before Willard, before her mother, and even before her Mother's Mother. Each generation passes on its position in the Line to the next generation. No one truly knows what's at the end of the Line, but all they hope for is a better future awaiting them at the end of the Line. There are some rules that one needs to follow in the Line. But only one stands above all: 'Though shall Not skip the Line'. Willard is tempted to leave, to understand what lies beyond the line, but at the end he always stays for his mother and his girlfriend, Nyla.

Everything changes when one night, her mother fell tragically and died. While clearing all her stuff, he finds a small handbook sewed in the seam of her dress. This book will change everything Willard ever thought about this world. He finally decided to leave the Line and follow her Mother's instruction to find Ben-Orkul.

'Line' is a great fictional novel. It gave me Maze Runner / Divergent vibes. I loved the whole concept of Line, and how it's not actually a line (SShh....!). The book kept me hooked and I read it in a single day. It was engaging and smoothly written. Never felt bored on a single page.

The world-building is extraordinary. The people living in tents, getting scheduled rations, and waiting for the line to move is such a brilliant setting. The 'Corporation' is like a whole different world within itself. The second part of the story was really unique and fascinating.

Talking about the characters, the character of Nyla was much more stronger than Willard himself. Although the book is based on the story of Willard, I liked Nyla much better. I would love to see more of Nyla in the next book (hopefully there's a next). She was smart and confident, whereas Willard was a bit weaker. I found Willard a bit cold-hearted. His reaction when his mother was dying, and how easily he moved-on (he kind of felt relieved), and his behavior towards Nyla was a bit hard-hearted. But there's also the fact that that's how they survive in Line.

There are a few concepts regarding some high financial terms, which were really important for the story, but I got a bit lost in it. The paper explaining the reason and concept around 'The Line' was a bit too heavy (for me... I am not good at financial stuff .... Yeek.!). But when the real reason and concepts around the creation of 'Line' come along, it was easier to follow. I just didn't understand the historic data research and data-specific part (bad thing considering I do data analysis and machine learning myself.... Ooops.! But I do just the technical part.)

The story ended on quite a suspenseful note. We see years into the future, and the mystery of how we came here is left hanging in the air. I am really interested to read the next book, which I know is going to be amazing and more adventurous.

Needless to say, I really loved this book and can't wait to read more from Bourke.

Recent Posts

See All

Nick

bottom of page